Gallery

I’m Dreaming Of A Purple Christmas

You may have heard about the Purple Wings Charity Christmas meal, it was a really nice quiet, intimate event.

It was held at the Kingsbridge Inn in Bourton On The Water (one of the UK’s prettiest villages) James is the head chef I do believe and devised a very nice three course menu. He even changed my pudding for me which was very nice of him to do so. There was a special cocktail list too!

On my little table I had fellow blogger Laura, her husband Michael  and obviously 00Steve. I had hassled Laura whilst she was travelling in Africa to buy her tickets!  We have chatted on social media since just after my surgery and it was really nice to meet her since she moved here from Australia.

For starters we had a roasted root vegetable soup with poppy seed bread, mains was turkey with the trimmings and dessert was billionaires cheesecake (I had Xmas pud which was delicious) due to being pregnant I didn’t have much of an appetite but everything was enjoyable and well cooked.

There was plenty going on too! A raffle, a live band and merchandise was on offer. The live band said the proceeds of their CD sales for at least the night were going to the charity so I gave Lauren’s little girl my money for the CD and the little tinker wanted both the money and the CD!

I even snapped up the “here come’s the boys” calendar for a fiver, I’m going to give it to my stoma nurses to help remind them about the charity and the good work they do for people.

It was a really lovely evening filled with laughter, catching up and meeting new people. It’s a shame that a lot of people couldn’t make it in the end for many different reasons. But I highly recommend going to the next event which will be as far as I’m aware July 22nd.

I have to admit my favourite part of the evening had to be seeing the Christmas tree on top of the river. It was absolutely stunning and so romantic, thankfully it stopped raining by the time we were leaving so 00Steve took a photo for me because he’s nice sometimes hahaha!

I’m looking forward to the next Purple Wings Charity event and will keep people posted on my facebook page as new ones are announced.

8 thoughts on “I’m Dreaming Of A Purple Christmas

  1. James says:

    I loved reading this and knowing you had a great time.
    It’s all I wanted for the night. Just people to be happy.
    I had so much anxiety on the day it was untrue.
    But I wouldn’t let any one tell lol. 🙂
    Alas I’m not the head chef that credit goes to some one else. I’m a bar supervisor and chef lol..

    Thank you so much for the kind words

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Steve Cartmail says:

    Good blog Stephie.. I like that your giving the calender to your Stoma nurses.. after Christmas I’m gonna do the same.. as a thank you to them.. cus they were both fantastic.. nice saying hi again..x

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Fab write up Stephie and love all your photos – I always forget to take pics on the night and then wish I’d taken more! Thanks for the idea of buying a calendar to give to my stoma nurse – I think she is going to love it!! Look forward to seeing you at the next event 🙂 Now that I’m a Londoner you won’t see the end of me!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

