Gallery

News Time Children

Just had my drainage tube out and I can safely say I don’t ever want another one. I didn’t think it would be as long as it was and I felt a bit queasy because I stupidly watched as they took it out! Just got a small bag on until tomorrow incase it oozes and then I can have it dressed and it will heal by itself.

I should hopefully see the dietician. I really do hope I will see the dietician as I would like to talk a bit about what I actually eat at home. I eat a heck of a lot of quinoa and I don’t really want to have to give it up as it’s an excellent source of both protein and carbohydrate. I also do like my vegetables and I don’t like them like mush. So if there is a way around that even in the near future I will be happy with that.

I saw the stoma nurse and because I didn’t sleep a wink last night I have been a pain in the ass (please excuse the really bad pun) and asked her to come back later to watch me change my bag (by myself eep) I’ve asked for a smaller size bag than what I have but not by a massive amount. I understand I would have to empty more often but I won’t have the worry of it scratching the top of my thigh and making me self conscious. She checked my ‘barbie butt’ and the wound is healing nicely, which is a bonus. I do have the odd sensation of needing to pump or go to the toilet normally but apparently that’s also normal.

My stoma has been playing up by being quite over active and noisy but three different registrar’s all have said that’s normal so that is a weight off my mind.

Leave a Reply

